The Palace was built in 1912, at a cost of Rs.41.50 lakhs in the Indo-Saracenic style, a combination of Hindu and Saracenic features. The construction of new palace was started in 1897, after the old wooden palace was caught in an accidental fire .Henry Irwin was the architect, and E.W. Fritchley worked as consulting Engineer. The elevation is composed of intricately detailed and variegated elements-a ;profusion of rounded and slightly carved arches, canopies, slender columned colonnades, some with Hindu features in Rajput style, the intricately executed multiple mouldings, marble architraves, stained glass pavilion, durbar halls, panels, fine carvings of birds, foliage, animals in Hoysala style.
The huge pavilion at the front has been used for holding meetings of the Representative Assembly and the convocation of the University of Mysore. The installation of Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV took place in this pavilion in 1902, attended by Lord Curzon, the then Viceroy and Governor-General of India. The Royal family lived in this palace till the construction of the new Amba Vilas Mysore Palace in 1912. Built in 1861 by Mummadi Krishnaraja Wodeyar, the building is in predominantly Hindu style.
Designed by E.W. Fritchley, a much patronized Bombay-based architect of those days, the building was built in 1931 at a cost of Rs. 13 lakhs as a guest house for European visitors of the Maharaja Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV. The building is a majestic two-storey composition of twin Ionic columns, a projecting porch on the ground floor, spherical domes, the circular entrance hall, domination central dome, stained glass embellishment present a regal touch.
The museum was establishes in October 2010. The museum fascinates visitors through its display of various musical instruments in interesting settings, replete with life size wax statues of musicians playing the musical instruments. Since the museum is based on music and musical instruments it reflects the diverse kinds of musical instruments that have been in use across various parts of the country and the world since ancient times. The wax museum takes its visitors on a 19 gallery tour comprising of 110 life size wax statues and more than 300 Indian and western musical instruments.
The Circle is named in memory of Maharaja Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV who ruled Mysore from 1902-40. The marble statue of the Maharaja Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV was prepared by Sculptor R.P. Kamath. The circle was inaugurated by Sir M. Visveswaraiah on 16th October 1952.The canopy, and the arched columns present Indo-Saracenic style.
The building was built in 1914 for the second princess Krishnarajammanni (second sister of Maharaja Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV), at a cost of Rs. 4.29 lakhs. A rich blend of Saracenic and Hindu elements, the elevation is remarkable for highly ornate features, cusped arches, intricately carved stoned columns on brackets. The building commands a view of Karnaji tank. At present the building has housed the postal Trailing Institute, Government of India.
Sand Sculpture Museum as Mysore Sand Sculpture museum is India’s First Sand Sculpture Museum. This was done With 115 truckloads of sand and with more than 150 huge Sculptures. It displays more than 16 themes describing the Heritage of Mysore. Situated on Chamundi hill main road Mysore